CWC Libguides: Nursing Resources and Research Guide: Home

.

Nursing Materials

Central Wyoming College Library offers a wide variety of Nursing resources that include clinical texts, evidence-based information about current medical diagnoses, and treatments and a wide variety of health-related literature. Our content includes physical and Internet resources to enhance student learning.

In addition to book and video references, our collection encompasses many database resources, 3D graphic anatomical renderings, specific nursing testing guides, case studies, and several current periodical subscriptions—all of which are representative of CWC’s extensive supply of nursing and healthcare related content.

Tips for Getting Started on your Search

These background and reference sources will provide contextual information and answer straight-forward questions.

Credo Reference
Use Credo to help define your topic and then use the links on topic pages to discover more in-depth information in books and journals, find thousands of art images and connect your ideas using concept mapping.
STAT!Ref
This source includes the Merck Manual, AAFP Conditions, Essentials of Musculoskeletal Care, Therapeutics Exercise, multiple Nursing Procedures & Guidelines and the ICD-9-CM & ICD-10 Worktext and Converters. Also provides a medical calculator, Stedman's Medical Dictionary and links to practice guidelines.

Central Wyoming College Nursing Program Information

See the CWC Nursing page for more information on:

Accreditation
Admission Requirements, Prerequisites and Application
Curriculum
Instructional Strategies
Scholarships
Achievement Statistics
Additional Nursing Opportunities

Casper Star Tribune
Frequently updated access to nursing articles published in the Casper Star Tribune.
Global Issues in Context
Specifically links to thousands of articles concerning global nursing issues.
Infotrac Newsstand
Uses basic search terms to locate current local and international nursing articles.
Riverton Ranger
Provides relevant access to nursing articles featured in the local Riverton paper.

Health and Science periodicals frequently received in the library include:

New Scientist
Popular Science
Science
Science News
Scientific American
University of California, Berkeley's Wellness Letter

Please see the Periodicals tab of this research guide for more about these titles.

Positive Living with HIV/AIDS, an Issue of Nursing Clinics by Ken Phillips
ISBN: 0323581625
Publication Date: 2018-02-12

This 2018 source uses bibliographical references to depict living with Human Immunodeficiency Virus/Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome. It explores nutritional issues and quality of life outcomes, as well as the role of faith-based organizations in the education, support, and services for persons living with HIV. Other topics include mindful living, behavioral medicine, cardiovascular health, confection management and end-of-life care and bereavement.
Geriatric Nursing by Sally Miller; Jennifer Kim
ISBN: 9780323545600
Publication Date: 2017-08-04

In their various clinical roles, nurses have the opportunity to identify geriatric syndromes through screening and assessments. Their roles bring them into contact with various disciplines, family members, and community resources. This edition is written to supply vital information to nurses who accept the challenges of providing care for an aging population.
Advances in Oncology Nursing, an Issue of Nursing Clinics by Margaret Barton-Burke
ISBN: 0323530176
Publication Date: 2017-04-21

This review contains articles by healthcare professionals concerning oncology nursing, as well as changes in cancer treatment, symptom management and palliative care.

For more articles concerning evidence-based nursing practices, see the library catalog.

ATI TEAS Secrets Study Guide by TEAS Exam Secrets Test Prep Staff (Editor)
ISBN: 9781516703838
Publication Date: 2016-03-31

This guide provides three full-length practice tests with detailed explanations of each answer and 74 video tutorials to help review.
ATI TEAS Secrets Study Guide includes a thorough and detailed review of all ATI TEAS test sections, review video tutorials, comprehensive practice questions with detailed answer explanations, tips and strategies to help ensure effective test performance.
ATI TEAS Test Study Guide 2017 by Trivium Test Prep
ISBN: 9781635301106
Publication Date: 2017-01-26

Trivium Test Prep study guides are streamlined and concept-driven in order to promote more effective study patterns and better results. Everything testers need to know in a concise, comprehensive, and effective package.
Nursing Procedures by Lippincott Williams and Wilkins Staff
ISBN: 9781469853031
Publication Date: 2015-10-17

This guide includes over 400 nursing procedures, from basic to advanced. Every entry lists equipment, step-by-step guidelines for bedside performance and provides rationales that ensure patient safety and positive outcomes. Specific procedures include infection control, specimen collection, physical assessment, drug administration, IV therapy, and hemodynamic monitoring. Body system procedures are outlined as well and include chest tube insertion, peripheral nerve stimulation, and intra-abdominal pressure monitoring.
Advancing Your Career by Rose Kearney Nunnery
ISBN: 9780803642034
Publication Date: 2015-09-29

The new edition of this popular text provides guidance for career advancement in professional healthcare practice. It builds upon prior nursing experiences and provides insight into required concepts for RN to BSN progression and beyond.
Concept Mapping by Pamela McHugh Schuster
ISBN: 9780803638488
Publication Date: 2015-09-18

Concept care mapping is a clear, visual and systematic method for care plan construction for any patient in any setting. This guide helps identify patient needs and uses the American Nurses Association standards of care to organize, prioritize and implement care quickly.
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Healthcare by Bernadette Melnyk; Ellen Fineout-Overholt
ISBN: 9781451190946
Publication Date: 2014-10-02

The Third Edition of this text explains the impact of evidence-based practice on positive patient outcomes. It provides real world examples and meaningful strategies in order to drive a preferable standard of care.
First Year Nurse by Barbara Arnoldussen; ARNOLDUSSEN
ISBN: 9781607140641
Publication Date: 2009-03-31

First Year Nurse shares the wisdom and warnings of experienced nurses. It sets a course for professional growth with inspiring stories of compassion, insight and enthusiasm.

For more new books and electronic resources, see the library catalog.