CWC Libguides: Nursing Resources and Research Guide: Databases and Online Resources

Databases Specific to Nursing

CINAHL: Cumulative Index of Nursing & Allied Health
Largest source of full-text for nursing and allied health literature. Provides additional research material, and quick lesson overviews. Additionally offering research instruments and clinical trials.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Full-text scholarly and peer-reviewed journals, all focusing on many medical/nursing disciplines. Includes LEX-PAL Drug guide, covering 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets and 4,700 brand names.
Nursing and Health Professions Premier Collection
Today's top nursing journals used by nurses, nursing students, and health professionals around the world on a daily basis.
Nursing Education in Video
A unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All videos have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations.
Nursing Resource Center
Premier supplemental reference material geared to the education and research needs of nursing students. Provides relevant, easy-to understand information on nursing topics.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source
Over 250 full-text nursing and allied health journals. Full text begins in the early to mid 1990's. Indexing goes back to the early 1980's.

Databases Featuring Nursing-Related Content

Introductory Search Materials
Basic Biological and Anatomical Information
Pharmacology and Medical Resources
Current Research and Issues

Credo Reference Center
The Credo Reference Center provides access to a multitude of healthcare articles including nursing ethics, bioinformatics, leadership and professionalism. In addition to research articles, this search query also encompasses encyclopedia articles, photographs and suggestions for relating reading.

Family Health Database
Find an enormous range of subjects extending from athletic injuries to women's health, food and nutrition to midwifery, and eye care to dentistry. Explore other public health subjects that include pandemics, disaster preparedness, and obesity.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Information on all aspects of health, medicine, and alternative health. Videos, medical encyclopedias, assessment tools, and drug and herb finder. With access to full text medical journals, magazines, reference works and multimedia.
Health Management Database
Reliable and relevant resources for researchers studying in the field of health administration. Explore full text scholarly journals, dissertations, and theses on topics that include hospital, insurance, law, statistics, business and personnel management, ethics, health economics, and public health administration.
Health Policy
Full-text journals, books, magazines, and trade publications. Addresses all health policy and related issues including delivery, administration, financing and economics, planning, quality, reform, health services research, and public health.
Health Reference Center Academic
Covers a wide range of health care topics. Includes full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters and hundreds of demo videos of medical procedures and live surgeries.

Biology Database
Provides comprehensive coverage of biological chemistry fields, including biological chemistry, biophysics, botany, cytology and histology, environmental studies, microbiology, microscopy, and zoology in just under 400 titles, with more than 325 available in full text.
Anatomy and Physiology Revealed
Complete virtual human cadaver dissection with anatomical graphics, video, x-rays, and histology slides.
Anatomy TV
NOTE: Click on the Anatomy.TV icon mid-page after accepting Stat!Ref terms and conditions. It contains medically accurate and 3D graphic rendering of human anatomy. Cross-search primal pictures, link to relevant text, dissections, slides, video clips, and MRI scans. Features activities and other related material.

NOTE: If this link does not work, AnatomyTV can be accessed through STAT!Ref.

Medline Plus
- This link opens in a new window
World’s largest up-to-date medical library, brings information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in easy-to-read terms. Learn about latest medical research, view videos, or illustrations, look up treatments, and information on drugs or supplements.
PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, full-text life science journals, and online books. Also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

Introduction to Evidence Based Medicine
This University of North Carolina tutorial is intended to educate students and healthcare practitioners on the basic principles of evidence based medicine.

Academic OneFile
Follow this link to find regularly updated journals, magazines, books, images and audio files relevant to the nursing field.
Britannica Academic
A general search within the Britannica encyclopedia that reveals thousands of articles concerning nursing issues. Topics include anti-psychotic use, dementia, nursing homes, nursing demand, ethical nursing care and cost containment, nursing unit reform, and more.
Science Direct
Access to regularly updated articles in the health science field.

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by April Hazard Vallerand; Cynthia A. Sanoski
ISBN: 9780803657052
Publication Date: 2016-05-25

An electronic drug guide for nurses. This 15th edition was published in 2017.
Essentials of Perioperative Nursing by Terri Goodman; Cynthia Spry
ISBN: 9781449688066
Publication Date: 2013-02-21

This electronic resource is an essential reference for new perioperative nurses as well as experienced nurses who need a refresher. Succinct and easy to use, it addresses the basics associated with navigating the perioperative environment rather than a procedure-oriented approach. Ideal for nurses, students, and perioperative nursing staff, it is also a helpful study guide for CNOR certification.
Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications by Anne M. Van Leeuwen; Mickey L. Bladh
ISBN: 9780803644052
Publication Date: 2015-02-03

Nursing-focused and easy-to-read, this handbook delivers all of the information you need to understand how tests work, interpret their results, and provide quality patient care--pre-test, intra-test, and post-test.Tests and procedures are listed in alphabetical order by their complete name for quick reference. The integrated index allows fast searches by abbreviation, synonym, disease/disorder, specimen type, or test classification. Plus, a Body Systems Appendix includes a list of common laboratory and diagnostic tests for each body system as well as nutrition-related lab tests.
Laboratory Tests and Diagnostic Procedures with Nursing Diagnoses by Jane Vincent Corbett; Angela D. Banks
ISBN: 9780132373326
Publication Date: 2012-02-10

The complete nurse's guide to using data from today's laboratory tests and diagnostic procedures to formulate, organize, and plan high-quality nursing care. This edition has been extensively updated to reflect the latest standards of care and the shift towards evidence-based practice, and to illuminate links between the nursing process and testing even more effectively. It introduces dozens of new tests and procedures, and offers updated information on many more, including expanded uses for many proven tests.

The Royal Society of Medicine Health Encyclopedia by R. M. Youngson
ISBN: 9781849720267
Publication Date: 2001-12-31

Full-Text available online. As the medical world's understanding of human health and illness becomes ever more sophisticated, pharmaceuticals and surgical techniques rise to meet it. This book takes the reader from symptoms to surgical procedures, through pregnancy, neurological and psychological disorders and much more.
Oxford Dictionary of Nursing by Elizabeth Martin and Tanya McFerran
Call Number: OXFORD REF
ISBN: 9780199211777
Publication Date: 2008

Follow the Central Wyoming College Access link to obtain access to over 10,000 clear and concise entries, written by medical and nursing specialists. This online dictionary covers the theory and practice of nursing, and includes entry-level web links. The text is enhanced by 100 helpful illustrations and tables.

Nursing Resources and Research Guide

.

Databases Specific to Nursing

Databases Featuring Nursing-Related Content

Other Electronic Sources