Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Located in the Library
Red Nation Rising : From Bordertown Violence to Native Liberation by
Call Number: E 93 .E88 2021
The first book ever to investigate and explain the violent dynamics of border towns. Border towns are white-dominated towns and cities that operate at the borders of current-day reservation boundaries, which separate the territory of sovereign Native nations from lands claimed by the US. Red Nation Rising marks the first effort to tell these entangled histories and inspire a new generation of Native freedom fighters to return to border towns as key front lines in the long struggle for Native liberation from colonial control.
Crazy Horse Weeps : The Challenge of Being Lakota in White America by
Call Number: E 99 .T34 M358 2019
For Lakota, Dakota, and Nakota people, historical trauma, chronically underfunded federal programs, and broken promises on the part of the US government have resulted in gaping health, educational, and economic disparities compared to the general population. Crazy Horse Weeps, offers a thorough historical overview of how South Dakota reservations have wound up in these tragic circumstances, showing how discrimination, a disorganized tribal government, and a devastating dissolution of Lakota culture by the US government have transformed the landscape of Native life. Yet these extraordinary challenges, Marshall argues, can be overcome. Focusing on issues of identity and authenticity, he uses his extensive experience in traditional Lakota wisdom to propose a return to traditional tribal values and to outline a plan for a hopeful future.
The Other Slavery: The Uncovered Story of Indian Enslavement in America by
Call Number: E 98 .S6 R47 2016
A myth-shattering work that draws on new evidence to reveal the massive enslavement of tens of thousands of North American Indians, from its beginnings in the early 1500s to its last gasp in the late 1800s. Since the time of Columbus, Indian slavery was illegal in much of the American continent. Yet, as historian Andres Resendez illuminates, it was practiced for centuries as an open secret. Includes 23 black & white photos, 17 maps, and 7 charts.
American Indian Law in a Nutshell by
Call Number: GLASSCASE KF 8205 .Z9 C36 2020
The seventh edition of this guide provides a reliable resource on American Indian law. Its authoritative text covers the essentials of this complex body of law, with attention to the governmental policies underlying it. The work emphasizes both the historical development of Federal Indian Law and recent matters such as the evolution of Indian gaming, issues arising under the Indian Child Welfare Act, and the present enforcement of treaty rights.
The Rights of Indians and Tribes by
Call Number: KF 8210 .C5 P48 2012
The Rights of Indians and Tribes, first published in 1983, has sold over 100,000 copies and is the most popular resource in the field of Federal Indian Law. The book, which explains this complex subject in a clear and easy-to-understand way, is particularly useful for tribal advocates,
government officials, students, practitioners of Indian law, and the general public. Numerous tribal leaders highly recommend this book.
Criminal Justice in Native America by
Call Number: E 98 .C87 C75 2009
Synopsis: Native Americans are disproportionately represented as offenders in the U.S. criminal justice system, particularly in the southwestern and north-central regions. However, until recently there was little investigation into the reasons for their over-representation. Furthermore, there has been little acknowledgment of the positive contributions of Native Americans to the criminal justice system—in rehabilitating offenders, aiding victims, and supporting service providers. This book offers a valuable and contemporary overview of how the American criminal justice system impacts Native Americans on both sides of the law.
Trickster: Native American Tales - A Graphic Collection by
Call Number: E 98 .F6 T73 2010 C.2
Synopsis: This collaboration between Native writers and accomplished artists serves as the first graphic anthology of Native American Trickster Tales. It encompasses more than twenty cultural tales and cleverly adapts them into comic form.
Healing the Soul Wound: Counseling with American Indians and other Native Peoples by
Call Number: RA 448.5 .I5 D87 2006
a psychologist working in Indian country draws on his own clinical experience to provide guidance to counselors working with Native Peoples. Translating theory into actual day-to-day practice, Duran presents case materials that illustrate effective intervention strategies for prevalent problems, including substance abuse, intergenerational trauma, and internalized oppression. Offering a culture-specific approach that has profound implications for all counseling and therapy, this groundbreaking volume.
Sho-Rap Highway : the Native American Firefighters of the Wind River by
Call Number: E 99 .A7 W45 2017
Synopsis: Native American tribes have for eons used fire to their advantage, and also fought wildfires, but it wasn't till the 20th century that there were efforts by the U.S. government to organize Indian firefighting crews. In Sho-Rap Highway, author Robin Whiteplume details the earliest years of the fire crews of the Wind River Reservation in Wyoming, and the Eastern Shoshone and Northern Arapaho men and women who fought fire all over the West.
Native American Clothing by
Call Number: E 98 .C8 B73 2009
Synopsis: Native Americans crafted beautiful clothing out of skins, pigment, quills and sinew. The collection of photographs in this outstanding reference celebrates this decorative genius. Many of the 300 photographs from more than 60 leading museums and private collections have never been published previously. The book describes the clothing in fascinating detail, from moccasins and tunics to sashes, bags and ceremonial and burial costumes. Theodore Brasser explains who made what and how, as well as the meanings of the different kinds of decoration, such as beadwork, embroidery, appliqué, patchwork, weaving and dyeing. There are also many examples of native pottery and other historic artifacts that depict themes used in the clothes.
Peyote Road: Religious Freedom and the Native American Church by
Call Number: E 98 .R3 M29 2010
Synopsis: The Peyote Road updates Omer Stewart's classic 1987 study of the Peyote religion by taking into consideration recent events and scholarship. In particular, Maroukis discusses not only the church's current legal issues but also the diminishing Peyote supply and controversies surrounding the definition of membership. Today approximately 300,000 American Indians are members of the Native American Church. The Peyote Road marks a significant case study of First Amendment rights and deepens our understanding of the struggles of NAC members to practice their faith.
NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window
A search for physical books in the NoveList Plus database brings recommendations on such topics as "Indians of North America" or "Treatments of Indians of North America" among many others. Choose categories in the subjects menu under "Advanced Search." After finding and selecting a particular book, click on the library catalog link (labeled "Look up in WYLDCAT") to see which library in Wyoming has it for checkout. Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is free for CWC students. If the CWC Library doesn't have it, use the ILL button in the catalog or see library staff to request it from another library.
Historical Dictionary of Native American Movements
Contains an extensive historical dictionary of Native American Movements. Covers key movement topics that include organizations, leadership strategies, and major Native American issues.
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
This digitized 7 volume set covers U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970.
Native American Writers
The newest edition of Native American Writers is available in this full-text online eBook. Native Americans have produced some of North America’s most powerful literature, and some of the culture’s most influential authors are examined in this edition. The book also features a bibliography, chronology and index for easy reference.
UXL Electronic Resource Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
This eBook provides detailed intertribal studies from all over the United States and Canada. It provides detailed historical, religious, economic and political information.
The Spirit and the Sky: Lakota Visions of the Cosmos by
In this eBook Mark Hollabaugh offers a detailed analysis of aspects of Lakota culture that have a bearing on Lakota astronomy, including telling time, their names for the stars and constellations as they appeared from the Great Plains, and the phenomena of meteor showers, eclipses, and the aurora borealis.
Captive Selves, Captivating Others: The Politics and Poetics of Colonial American Captivity Narratives by
This eBook reexamines the Anglo-American literary genre known as the Indian captivity narrative in the context of the complex historical practice of captivity across cultural borders in colonial North America. This detailed and nuanced study of the relationship between practice and representation on the one hand, and identity and alterity on the other. It is an important contribution to cultural studies, American studies, Native American studies, women's studies, and historical anthropology.