Library: Native American Studies: Databases & Articles

Genealogy

American Indian ancestry has specific challenges. It is advised to start with this .pdf guide: Researching Your American Indian Ancestors on Ancestry

Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is an on-campus-use-only resource. Genealogy resources, including census, birth, marriage, and death records. Provides guides on how to start your ethnic research and more.
HeritageQuest Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is available remotely only (off-campus only). It provides guides on how to start your ethnic research and more. Find genealogy on family and local histories, search the U.S. Census from 1790-1940, look at records of the Revolutionary War, Freedman’s Bank, and the U.S. Serial Set. You will need any Wyoming library card number and your PIN.

Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Extensive monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections. Robust, diverse, informative research that will enhance and increase understanding of the experiences of indigenous peoples of U.S. and Canada.
Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
More than 2.7 million articles from 150 scholarly journals that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the world. Contains significant amount of Indigenous content with easy to search tools such as the Topic Finder, Provides access to News, Magazines, and Books as well as scholarly articles.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Create a search term such as "Native American" and easily refine the results from there. This reference resource has images, videos, and articles covering the different aspects and regions of the native experience.

Academic OneFile
An automated topic search that reveals Native American historical articles within academic journals, magazines, books and general news. Content is filterable and available in full-text online.
Britannica
A comprehensive introduction to American Indian research. This article includes potential search terms, as well as information about early cultural development, agriculture, colonization among Northern, Middle and Southern American Indians. Features an extensive Native American music section with subtopics that include genres, instruments, plus resolution photographs.
Opposing Viewpoints
This database provides insight to a multitude of controversial topics. Within the Native American Rights section, a full text article is available with information about land and resource rights, civic engagement, environmental, social and economic justice, public health, and cultural appropriation.
U.S. History
U.S. History in context allows you to search within selected Native American categories. Subject matter available includes the American Indian Movement, Battle of the Little Bighorn, the Trail of Tears, pre-Columbus information, the Wounded Knee Massacre and more.