Library: Citation Help: Basic Styles

Citations

Understanding how and why to use citations is essential for giving credit to the appropriate author and avoiding plagiarism. Citations also help your reader locate sources. You need to ask yourself, is it possible for someone to find this information in the future? For example, census statistics would require a citation because your reader could go locate that information again.

The formatting styles most used to cite sources:

Follow the links above for guidelines in each style type. If you are unsure of which format is required, ask your instructor.

Citation Comparison

Citation Styles and Reference Guides

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: RESERVE BF 76.7 .P83 2020 C.2
ISBN: 9781433832161
Published: 2019-10-01
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. It is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication.

The Basics of APA Style
This tutorial is designed for those who have no previous knowledge of APA Style. It shows users how to structure and format their work, recommends ways to reduce bias in language, identifies how to avoid charges of plagiarism, shows how to cite references in text, and provides selected reference examples.
Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) for APA Style
APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
Sample Paper
Here's a sample paper provided by APA. For every style rule, there is a comment highlighted in the paper that tells you where to find the discussion of the rule in the APA Style Manual.
How to cite generative AI (ChatGPT)
Here's an article on how to cite ChatGPT & generative AI. Remember, this is a new technology, and information may not be correct. Check with your instructor regarding appropriate use for class.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: RESERVE LB 2369 .M52 2021
ISBN: 9781603293518
Published: 2021-04-22
The latest guidance on documenting sources in MLA style and follows the guidelines set forth in the MLA Handbook, 9th edition (April 2021). The supplement covers the elements of MLA citations, MLA in-text citation models, MLA list of works cited, MLA-style formatting for student papers, sample pages from student writing in MLA style, and a sample MLA research project.

Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) for MLA Style
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook (8th ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
MLA Citation Format Tutorial
A step-by-step tutorial beginner's guide to MLA formatting. This source has video references, practice templates and quizzes to test your content knowledge.
Sample Paper
This sample paper contains comments about the formatting changes specific to MLA.
How to cite generative AI (ChatGPT)
Here's an article on how to cite ChatGPT & generative AI. Remember, this is a new technology, and information may not be correct. Check with your instructor regarding appropriate use for class.

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
ISBN: 9780226287058
Published: 2017-09-05
This manual provides information on manuscript preparation, punctuation, spelling, quotations, captions, tables, abbreviations, references, bibliographies, notes, and indexes, with sections on journals and electronic media.
A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations: Chicago style for students and researchers by Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by); University of Chicago Press Staff (Revised by)
Call Number: RESERVE LB 2369 .T8 2020
ISBN: 9780226816371
Published: 2020
The name Turabian has become synonymous with best practices in research writing and style. Her Manual for Writers continues to be the gold standard for generations of college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.

Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) for Chicago Style
This source contains information on The Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation. This method is primarily utilized in humanities courses and follow the seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style, which was issued in 2017.
Sample Paper - Author Date
Sample paper for the Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition.
Sample Paper - Notes & Bibliography style
Sample paper for Chicago Manual of Style - Notes and Bibliography paper.
How to cite generative AI (ChatGPT)
Here's an article on how to cite ChatGPT & generative AI. Remember, this is a new technology, and information may not be correct. Check with your instructor regarding appropriate use for class.