Library: Equine Science: Additional Resources

Resources

American Quarter Horse Association
AQHA is the biggest industry in the equine world with programs, disciplines, various memberships, sales, genetic testing and more. Contains information about riding, ranching, showing, and racing and a page of scholarships and awards available to members.
EQUIstaff
Horse jobs and staff and other employment resources for the equine industry. Job-seeker accounts are free. For a membership fee you can list positions and search applicant databases, or, utilize their recruitment services.
EQUUS Foundation
Committed to protecting America's horses from peril now and in the future, and to inspire and reward the next generation of equine professionals, the Foundation awards scholarships to junior and senior level undergraduate and graduate level students enrolled in equine studies programs.
Horse Lovers Math
This site has a selection of scholarships to help you. Each listing includes details about application deadlines, minimum GPA required, eligible grade levels, residency requirement, eligible majors and links to the scholarships for detailed information and to apply.
Kentucky Horse Council
This site has an abundance of varied equine scholarships, grants, and awards in easy-to-read listings with pertinent details.
Ranch World Ads
Browse the advertisements or submit your own classified ad for horse sales, job opportunities, ranch properties and equipment listed by specific states.
Yard & Groom
A jobs site for opportunities in the equine industry in the United States and world wide. You can also submit your resume and/or C.V. for employers to browse.

Breeds of Horses
From the Department of Agriculture and Food Sciences and Oklahoma State University, this web page has a comprehensive index of horse breeds.
Draft Horse Journal
In addition to its traditional content which covers breeding, raising, showing, selling and using all breeds of heavy horses, it now includes veterinary advice, legal advice, and witty columns, feature articles on horse and mule logging, horsemanship clinics, modern equipment, bloodline profiles and more.
Horse Illustrated Magazine
Learn about your favorite horse breeds (including draft horses, warmbloods, light horses, and ponies), including their history, characteristics, personality, equestrian sports and disciplines they each excel in, and more, along with stories about individual horses from common and rare breeds and the people who love them.
Mustang Heritage Foundation
This foundation helps find forever homes for thousands of horses and burros that are corralled and held up each year. They are dedicated to removing these animals from BLM holding pens and placing them into homes and private care through innovative programs, events, and education.

Cheyenne Frontier Days - The Rodeo
Every rodeo performance will see event money winners who will advance to semifinals and finals. The finals competition is where the highest scores and fastest times will be crowned champion.
Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association
The PRCA is the largest rodeo organization in the world. It sanctions events in the United States, Canada, and Mexico, with members from said countries, as well as others. Its championship event is the National Finals Rodeo.
Rodeo All Star
For two days in October, the world’s top-ranked cowboys and cowgirls ride into Denver to compete in three rodeo performances with a chance to win big bucks and be crowned Rodeo All-Star Champions.
Womens Professional Rodeo Association
The WPRA is one of the largest rodeo sanctioning bodies in the world and is open exclusively to women eighteen years of age and older.
Wyoming Rodeo Association
WRA wants to make it possible for Wyoming and bordering states' Cowboys and Cowgirls to compete close to home.

American Cutting Horse Association
A membership association that was formed to promote the sport of cutting horse competition.
National Cutting Horse Association
The NCHA promotes and celebrates the cutting horse, whose origin on Western ranches allows support for ranching and its western heritage.
National Reined Cow Horse Association
NRCHA is charged with oversight and enforcement of the rules that regulate the sport of reined cow horse, and preserving and educating the public about the history of this traditional style of horsemanship.
National Reining Horse Association
NRHA is an organization dedicated to the promotion of the reining horse in a fun-filled, family atmosphere. It serves as the standard setting body for the sport of reining worldwide.

Wind River Wild Horse Sanctuary
Since 2016, the Wind River Wild Horse Sanctuary invites visitors to learn about wild mustangs, Native American culture, and experience life on a working ranch on the Wind River Indian Reservation.
Our Wyoming: Wind River Wild Horse Sanctuary
Wyoming PBS presents this short documentary that provides a home for non-adoptable wild horses, balancing conservation with cattle ranching. Working with the BLM, the Oldham family manages this unique sanctuary, offering permanent care for wild horses while educating visitors about horse management issues.
Wyoming Honor Farm
The BLM and the Honor Farm have worked cooperatively since 1988 to train and adopt wild horses gathered primarily from Wyoming’s public lands.
Wyoming Department of Agriculture
The Wyoming Dept. of Ag is dedicated to the promotion and enhancement of Wyoming's agriculture, natural resources and contribution to Wyoming quality of life.
Wyoming State Library's Business Resources Guide
The State library's guide to Wyoming Businesses provides a varied and comprehensive list of additional resources needed for conducting business in this state.

Riverton Ranger / Lander Journal
Search Fremont County's two local newspapers for issues related to your field of study and the current events that affect them. Just type a keyword after selecting the search icon.
Wyoming Public Media - Deptartment of Agriculture
Keep up to date with the latest news items making headllnes related to Wyoming's Department of Agriculture.
New York Times
Use CWC's subscription to "The Times" to retrieve national and international news articles about agriculture and equine science.

Horses
This search in Libby retrieves over a dozen magazines about Horses.
EQUUS
This link gets you to EQUUS Magazine in Libby.
e-Magazines in the Library Catalog
This search retrieves e-Magazines about "Horses" in the library catalog.

Accessing e-Magazines from your personal computer or browser.

Your library card provides access to online/digital Magazines using the Libby website OR by doing a search in the CWC Library Catalog.

Libby Website: Enter your library card information using the link above and search.
Using the Library Catalog:

Enter a search term.
Select "Narrow Your Results" on the left side of the screen.
Check the e-Magazines box and click "Apply."
In the result set, select "Check out in Libby"
Enter your library card and PIN unless you are already signed in.
Follow the prompts to read in your browser.

Searching Tips & Techniques

Before you start your search, try to compile a list of potential keywords. This is always a good idea, but it is especially useful for conducting searches in a field such as Equine Science.

Use common keywords such as: horse anatomy, equine diseases, or small business management.
Search by particular regions, seasons, climate, or ecology.
Combine key terms with a topical word (e.g., veterinary medicine)
Browse the subject Equestrian in the Library Catalog, OneSearch, and even the Wyoming State Library.
Try the term "animal" in eJournals, and Databases
If you are looking for a specific component of agricultural studies use the name of that. For example, you can search for "equine parasite control."
For more precise results, try an advanced keyword search.
Putting your search term within quotes (e.g., "animal health") may produce more relevant content.

Pro Tip - Once you have found a source that is perfect for your writing assignment, look at that book or article's sources. The author has completed a lot of research on the subject. Using the already researched items is a great way to work smarter, not harder.

Another Tip - Use the filters on your searches. These will appear on the left side of your screen after your initial search. You will be able to refine your searches by content type, discipline, publication date, and more.

Equine Science

Other Helpful Resources

Off Campus Database Access Instructions

Libby Instructions

Libby gives you access to books, magazines, and audiobooks.

Download the app, then register your library card.

A 14-digit barcode number on the back of your CWC ID.

Resources

e-Magazines

Searching Tips & Techniques