Library: Native American & Indigenous Studies: Additional Resources

Useful Websites

Denver Public Library
This link uses the phrase "Native American," to access thousands of photographs in the Denver Public Library's Western History digital collection.
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
This digitized 7 volume set covers U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970.
Intertribal Life
Bi-Monthly news from across Native North America. Formerly Indian Life. Not a paid subscription, but readers can access some articles for free.
Labriola Center
The Labriola National American Indian Data Center at Arizona State University is an Indigenous-led library center where students and community members can celebrate and critically engage with American Indian and Indigenous scholarly works and creative writing. Its staff provides culturally relevant information and research support, and the center is a culturally safe learning space for Indigenous library users. You can contact a librarian there for additional help.
National Archives Digital Photography Collection
The Native American Heritage section includes an in-depth photographic portrayal of Native Americans. Sorted by subjects and selected from pictorial records by 15 government agencies. Has digital, genealogical, and tribal resources.

Magazines

Journal of the American Indian Education

Searching Tips & Techniques

Before you start your search, try to compile a list of potential keywords. This is always a good idea, but it is beneficial for conducting searches in a field such as Native American Studies. A good first place to start is to identify possible culture group names for your search.

Use common keywords such as Native American, Amerindian, Indian, First Peoples, or Indigenous.
Search by particular tribe, nation, or cultural group name (for example, Arapaho or Shoshone)
Combine tribal names with a topical word (e.g., Sioux mythology)
Browse the subject Indians of North America or American Indian in the Library Catalog, OneSearch, eJournals, Databases, and even the Wyoming State Library.
If you are looking for a specific event or ceremony, use the name of that event. For example, you can search for "Native American Church" under subject.
For best results, try an advanced keyword search using the terms Religion, Mythology, or Ceremony (as appropriate) combined with any or all of your identified keywords.
Putting your search term within quotes (e.g., "Native American") may produce more relevant content.

Native American & Indigenous Studies

Other Helpful Resources

Off Campus Database Access Instructions

Libby Instructions

Libby gives you access to books, magazines, and audiobooks.

Download the app, then register your library card.

A 14-digit barcode number on the back of your CWC ID.

Useful Websites

Magazines

Searching Tips & Techniques