Skip to Main Content

Art

Online Sources

 

 

  • Victoria and albert museum LogosThe Victoria and Albert Museum (V&A) "From ancient Chinese ceramics to Alexander McQueen evening dresses, take an incredible journey through 5000 years of human creativity with our online collections."  You can search over 1.25 million objects.

 

 

 

 

  • File:Smithsonian logo color.svg - Wikimedia CommonsSmithsonian Open Access Gallery - "where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to more than 4.5 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 21 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo."

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • J. Paul Getty Trust - WikipediaGetty Research Institute Images- Includes all types of documents from artists including sketchbooks, drawings & watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through 18th century, 19th century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks, and early photographs of the Middle East and Asia.

 

 

 

  • Museum Registrar - Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco in San Francisco - Jobs.art 🔵FAMSF ImageBase- The Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco Image Base contains images from the permanent collections of the Legion of Honor and de Young Museums.

 

 

 

 

  • Harvard Art MuseumsHarvard Art Museums- A digital record of with basic information about every object on exhibition at the HAM galleries as well as approximately 81,000 works of art in the HAM collection.
  • Art Babble- A website that features high quality art-related video content from 50 cultural institutions from around the world.
  • The New York Public Library Digital Collection- The New York Public Library offers audio, video, webcasts, images, prints, photographs, poetry, and fiction.
  • UbuWeb: Film and Video- a large web-based educational resource for avant-garde material providing access to out of print materials, sound art and video.
  • Vernissage TV- Vernissage TV takes you to opening receptions (Vernissages) of exhibitions and events. Archived footage of events is indexed by artists names.
  • Art and Architecture in VideoOnline database with 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis.

e-Magazines

Accessing e-Magazines from your personal computer or browser.

Your library card provides access to online/digital Magazines using the Libby website OR by doing a search in the CWC Library Catalog.

  • Libby Website: Enter your library card information using the link above and search.
  • Using the Library Catalog:
  1. Enter a search term.
  2. Select "Narrow Your Results" on the left side of the screen.
  3. Check the e-Magazines box and click "Apply."
  4. In the result set, select "Check out in Libby"
  5. Enter your library card and PIN unless you are already signed in.
  6. Follow the prompts to read in your browser.

Searching Tips & Techniques

Before you start your search, try to compile a list of potential keywords. This is always a good idea, but it is especially useful for conducting searches in a field such as diverse as the Arts. A good first place to start is to identify possible word variations that associate with your topic.

  • Use common keywords for painting such as portraiture, plein air, still life, or use time periods such as renaissance, romanesque, gothic, or rococo. 
  • Search by particular styles such as impressionism, realism, action, cubism, surrealism, or pop art.
  • Combine keywords focusing on the type of work you are looking for with the styles and time period.
  • Browse the subject plein air painting in the Library Catalog, OneSearch, and the Wyoming State Library.
  • Browse the subject of Art in eJournals, Databases.
  • If you are looking for a specific event or artist, use the name of that event or artist name. 
  • For best results, try an advanced keyword search, combined with any or all of your identified keywords.
  • Putting your search term within quotes (e.g., "plein air painting") may produce more relevant content.

Pro Tip - Once you have found a source that is perfect for your writing assignment, look at that book or article's sources.  The author has completed a lot of research on the subject.  Using the already researched items is a great way to work smarter, not  harder.

Another Tip - Use the filters on your searches.  These will appear on the left side of your screen after your initial search.  You will be able to refine your searches by content type, discipline, publication date, and more.