Access databases using your CWC login from anywhere! Your CWC username and password will allow you to access online resources. Trouble logging in? Contact librarian@cwc.edu
Aesthetics International Association
AIA was founded to bring aesthetic professionals together to network, share knowledge, and gather in numbers to establish a presence in the industry. In the early 80s we began our mission to raise the standards of education and public awareness of the aesthetics industry.
American Association of Cosmetology Schools
The goals of the AACS are developing overall operational excellence, maintaining membership loyalty and intimacy, and providing leading edge programs, services and products.
American Electrology Association
The AEA promotes the highest standards in Electrology education, practice and ethics and champions state licensing and regulation of the profession to protect the public interest. The American Electrology Association plays a key role in providing reliable and scientifically accurate information to its membership, the public, the medical community and government agencies.
Associated Skin Care Professionals
As the largest association devoted to skin care professionals, ASCP provides components vital to your success: affordable liability insurance coverage, treatment news and trends, free continuing education and webinars, networking, and resources to market your services.
Association of Cosmetology Salon Professionals
It is the mission of the Association of Cosmetology Salon Professionals to build and perpetuate a membership which exists to promote and support professionalism in the Cosmetology, Esthetics and Nail Industries thereby ensuring Leadership through the highest standards of Legislative Reform, Continued Advanced Education, and changing lives through Community Service Outreach.
DaySpa Association
Our mission is to deliver world-class industry reports, education, networking, a resource library, business building tools and a nationally renowned Calendar of Events.
National Association of Barber Boards of America
The National Association of Barber Boards of America was formed in 1926 as a national organization dedicated to appointed State Board Members, officers and administrators. Related industry partners are encouraged to join the National Association of Barber Boards. Presently we have over 110 active members that work to maintain the barber professional standards and policies of the barber and hair care industry.
Professional Beauty Association
The Professional Beauty Association (PBA) advances the professional beauty industry by providing our members
with education, charitable outreach, government advocacy, events and more. Probeauty is the largest organization of salon professionals with members representing salons/spas, distributors, manufacturers and beauty professionals/NCA.
The Society of Permanent Cosmetic Professionals The Society of Permanent Cosmetic Professionals is dedicated to promoting permanent makeup safety, excellence, and professional standards by providing education, certification, and industry guidelines.Provides information about average salaries in the beauty industry, using Bureau of Labor Statistics data.
Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists
From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, data provided includes beauty services, such as shampooing, cutting, coloring, and styling hair, and massaging and treating scalp. May apply makeup, dress wigs, perform hair removal, and provide nail and skin care services.
Information about salary, salary trends, hourly rates, and annual salary for cosmetologists and other beauty culture careers.
Consumer magazine covering local fashion and lifestyle.
Reports on current news and information for the cosmetics, personal care products, and over-the-counter pharmaceuticals industries. The scope of the coverage is international and includes research and development, market trends, and new product previews. Business and trade interests.
In The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers
Quality monthly magazine for women, founded in 1867 by Harper and Brothers, New York, and sold to the Hearst Corporation in 1913. Gained a reputation for innovative editorial design by employing the most gifted designers and photographers.
Consumer magazine for women.
In 100 Ideas that Changed Fashion
Arthur Baldwin Turnure founded Vogue as a small New York society weekly in 1892. But it was a young lawyer and publisher Condé Nast who turned the magazine around when he bought it on Turnure's death in 1909, adding more colour, advertisements and articles on society and fashion.
American Salon is the most respected publication brand in the professional beauty industry. It boasts the largest and most targeted circulation of any magazine in its category. Published monthly in print, it is the official trade magazine for members of the National Cosmetology Association (NCA).
Also available in the database periodicals.
BeautyLink, the official quarterly magazine of the American Association of Cosmetology Schools (beautyschools.org), is an award-winning go-to resource for cosmetology educators and beauty school owners across the nation. Covering topics from legal and legislative, to trends and educator resources and leadership and marketing, each issue is jam-packed with the best resources and articles written for the beauty-education industry.
Dermatology Reports is an online-only, international, Open Access peer-reviewed journal which publish scientific papers about skin diseases. Manuscripts dealing with research, biology, epidemiology, clinics of all skin-related diseases are welcome. Dermatology Reports publishes original articles, reviews, brief reports and case reports.
JCDSA is an open-access, peer-reviewed journal describing scientific and technological advances that cover the basic sciences, engineering aspects and applied technology of cosmetics, toiletries, perfumery and related fields.
The two most important laws pertaining to cosmetics marketed in the United States are the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act(FD&C Act) and the Fair Packaging and Labeling Act (FPLA). FDA regulates cosmetics under the authority of these laws.
Our mission is to promote the protection of the health, safety, and welfare of the professional workforce by actively pursuing excellence in cosmetology and related fields. Our objectives are to:
•Provide a forum for the exchange of state regulatory ideas.
•Offer a standardized, valid, and legally defensible National Examination Program based on the highest standards and requirements.
•Promote national endorsement and standardization of regulations.
•Encourage competency in the practice of cosmetology and related fields.
•Cultivate professional relationships with industry partners.
OSHA's Safety and Health Topics webpages provide information on specific safety and health hazards, as well as specific hazard information on different industries. These pages provide information on hazard identification and control, as well as existing OSHA standards where applicable. This information can be helpful to employers in complying with OSHA standards.
5 Mistakes That Prevent You From Becoming a Booked Solid Esthetician
The 6 Secrets That Will Help Your Hair Salon and Day Spa Succeed
10 Secrets to Becoming a Successful Hairdresser | Modern Salon
65 Salon Marketing Ideas: The Ultimate List | Matt Martinelli | LinkedIn
Keys to Running a Successful Salon or Spa Business - SalonBuilder.com
Promoting Your Salon: 12 Tips for Salon Marketing | Signpost Local Marketing Blog
Ten Outside-The-Box Jobs You Can Pursue With A Cosmetology License
Live About (an IAC Company) is one of the largest sites on the Internet that helps nearly 90 million people each month discover, learn about, and be inspired by topics ranging from parenting and healthcare to cooking to travel. Live About is for anyone who has a question, a problem, a passion or just wants to learn something new.
Creative Age currently publishes Beauty Launchpad, Beauty Store Business, The Colorist, DAYSPA, INSPIRE, Medesthetics, Nail It!, NAILPRO and Surgical Aesthetics.
Including pass along readership, website views and email communications, Creative Age reaches nearly half a million beauty professionals every month.
This site provides information related to all areas of the cosmetology field.
Writing a business plan is an opportunity to carefully think through every step of starting your company so you can prepare for success.
This is your chance to discover any weaknesses in your business idea, identify opportunities you may not have considered, and plan how you will deal with challenges that are likely to arise. A well-written business plan can help convince investors or lenders to finance your business.
This template includes instructions for each section of the business plan, followed by corresponding fillable worksheet/s. - After you complete the 11 worksheets, you will have a working business plan for your startup.
This is a timed 100-question test that is similar to the state board exam. It can be used as a practice test in preparation for the exam.
The Hair Archives is a website devoted to vintage hair fashion. Sit back and enjoy a unique library of beautiful hairstyles from past generations. Read about the beauty industry and the history of hair fashion. Watch how hair fashion evolved throughout the generations.
. A well-developed business plan provides your hair salon with a map for success and focus. Further, it can be used to obtain funding from banks or to recruit partners. A business plan outlines all aspects of your business, including your mission and goals, market, operations and financing.
Our mission is to be a global leader in providing innovative lifelong learning solutions to beauty and wellness students and professionals.
The health of your nails can be a clue to your overall health. Healthy nails are usually smooth and consistent in color. Specific types of nail discoloration and changes in growth rate can be signs of lung, heart, kidney, and liver diseases, as well as diabetes and anemia.
Our objective is to provide skin care information that will help you identify and treat a wide range of skin conditions. Click on the links below to get more skin treatment information from our other skin care websites including: acne, herpes, skin cancer, psoriasis, eczema, fungal infection, rosacea, lupus, Lice, cuts and scrapes and more. You can also learn about anti-aging cosmetic procedures like botox and skin fillers.
On the pages of this site you will find all of the information you'll ever need on skin problems ranging from the most minor allergic reactions to very serious diseases. Anything that manifests itself on the skin will be covered in full detail.
This site provides tips to maintain healthy beauty. Topics covered include skin, hair, anti-aging, and cosmetic surgery.
Accessing e-Magazines from your personal computer or browser.
Your library card provides access to online/digital Magazines using the Libby website OR by doing a search in the CWC Library Catalog.