Library: GIST: Additional Resources

Resources

David Rumsey Map Collection
This collection focuses on 18th and 19th century maps of North and South America but historical maps of the rest of the world are becoming a larger part of this online collection.

Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is available remotely only (off-campus only). Provides more than 660,000 maps that chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities from 1867–1970. Lists street blocks and building numbers, building footprints, building material, height or number of stories, building use, lot lines, road widths and water facilities. You will need any Wyoming Library card and your PIN.

University of Texas Map Collection
The Texas GeoData Portal has been developed using a mix of open-source solutions and commercial off-the-shelf technology, including GeoBlacklight 4.x for the front-end framework, ArcGIS Server, Microsoft SQL Server, and Apache Solr.
USGS - National Map
As one of the cornerstones of the U.S. Geological Survey's (USGS) National Geospatial Program, The National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation. It has many uses ranging from recreation to scientific analysis to emergency response.

Useful Websites

CIA Maps
Part of the World Factbook. Provides a variety of world, regional, country, ocean, and time zone maps.
Citing Maps
The Association of Canadian Map Libraries and Archives (ACMLA) makes available their ACMLA RECOMMENDED BEST PRACTICES IN CITATION OF CARTOGRAPHIC MATERIALS. That is a useful tool for citing items that you usually do not find covered by the traditional citation guides.
Digital Vector Map
Free vector file outline maps of individual states.
Google Dataset
Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets. Functions with a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.

Searching Tips & Techniques

Before you start your search, try to compile a list of potential keywords. This is always a good idea, but it is especially useful for conducting searches in a field such as Geography. A good first place to start is to identify standard names for your search.

Search by particular tribe, nation, or cultural group name (for example, Arapaho or Shoshone)
Combine tribal names with a landmark (e.g., Navajo Canyon De Chelly)
Browse the subject in the Library Catalog, OneSearch, eJournals, Databases, and even the Wyoming State Library.
If you are looking for a specific location or feature, use the name of that event. For example, you can search for "Native American Church" under subject and change the discipline to "Geography."
Putting your search term within quotes (e.g., "Colosseum") may produce more relevant content.

Pro Tip - Once you have found a source that is perfect for your writing assignment, look at that book or article's sources. The author has completed a lot of research on the subject. Using the already researched items is a great way to work smarter, not harder.

Another Tip - Use the filters on your searches. These will appear on the left side of your screen after your initial search. You will be able to refine your searches by content type, discipline, publication date, and more.

GIST

Other Helpful Resources

Off Campus Database Access Instructions

Libby Instructions

Libby gives you access to books, magazines, and audiobooks.

Download the app, then register your library card.

A 14-digit barcode number on the back of your CWC ID.

Resources

Useful Websites

Searching Tips & Techniques