Access databases using your CWC login from anywhere! Your CWC username and password will allow you to access online resources. Trouble logging in? Contact librarian@cwc.edu
Teach Magazine: a print and online magazine that delivers pragmatic tools and resources to K–12 educators everywhere.
The Education Magazine: The top education magazine covers global educational trends, updates about colleges, universities, institutes and more.
EdTech Magazine explores K-12 technology and education issues that IT leaders and educators face when they're evaluating and implementing a solution.
Education Next is a journal of opinion and research about education policy.
Education Week:Two researchers discuss how schools can use "knowledge-building" to help students improve their reading.
Our Foundation is dedicated to transforming K-12 education so that all students can acquire and effectively apply the knowledge, attitudes, and skills necessary to thrive in their studies, careers, and adult lives.
The CK-12 Foundation is a California-based non-profit organization which aims to increase access to low-cost K-12 education in the United States and abroad. Teachers are expected to wear many hats. More often than not, there’s not enough time in the day to wear them all. We’re here to help teachers get back their time and focus on what they do best: teaching!
PBS LearningMedia offers FREE educational resources for PreK–12 educators and students.
A literacy resource for grades PreK-3 that pairs classic fictional video storybooks with related eBooks. Animation, audio and interactive games are designed to reinforce core reading skills.
These curated collections of eBooks & audiobooks in multiple formats include animated, talking picture books, read-along chapter books, non-fiction books, playlists, graphic novels and more. This content is available for streaming only and is not downloadable.
When you start teaching GoWYLD is a great resource that is free to anyone. It is a service of the Wyoming State Library and has amazing resources for kids, teens, or adults. Browse the holdings here.
A general research database designed for students in grades K-5. Incorporates content from Primary Search, MAS Ultra, American Heritage Children's Dictionary, and Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia.
This database introduces elementary school students to database searching with easy-to-use resources featuring age-appropriate, curriculum-related content. Formerly Kids InfoBits.
A broad-based general research experience aimed at the middle school researcher.
The CWC Early Childhood Education Instructors recommend these Tip Sheets.
Before you start your research, make sure to read the assignment to understand what your professor is requesting from your writing. This is always a good idea, but it is especially useful for conducting searches in a field such as Childhood Education. Focus on the purpose and length of the paper to develop your thesis statement. The shorter the paper length, the more narrow your thesis should be. Compile a list of potential keywords to help you in your research, think of synonyms, overarching topics, and possibly information from outside of the specific field - what was happening with government, culturally, philosophy, or other topics.
Pro Tip - Once you have found a source that is perfect for your writing assignment, look at that book or article's sources. The author has completed a lot of research on the subject. Using the already researched items is a great way to work smarter, not harder.
Condition of Education - contains key indicators on all levels of education, labor force outcomes, and international comparisons. The indicators summarize important developments and trends using the latest statistics.