Library: Social Work: Find Articles

Subject Search

Use OneSearch when looking for specific topics with a wide or narrow scope. Examples include: social welfare, emotional counseling, poverty, cognitive disabilities.

Use the filters on the left of the search page to narrow your results to find more detailed information about your keyword searches.

Databases

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. Includes content from as far back as 1894 to current publications.
Social Science This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. Offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Sociology This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies.
Criminal Justice (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains 7,682,356 articles and 250 journals for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, and writing sociological reports.
Criminal Justice (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. It includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
PTSD pubs This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and other psychological effects of trauma and is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD

Advances in Social Work
This journal addresses current issues, challenges, and responses facing social work practice and education globally. seeks to publish empirical, conceptual, and theoretical articles that make substantial contributions to the field in all areas of social work.
Currents: Scholarship in the Human Services
Currents is no longer actively publishing. However, the back issues have been archived and content will continue to be made openly accessible.
Intersectionalities
This journal aims to underscore issues relating to oppression, privilege and resistance in society and social work. Of critical consideration are the ways in which intersections of age, disability, class, poverty, gender and sexual identity, madness, spirituality, geographical (dis)location, rurality, colonialism/imperialism, indigeneity, racialization, ethnicity, citizenship and the environment are enmeshed in processes of social justice and injustice.
Journal of Family Strengths
JFS is an open-access, peer-reviewed journal by the CHILDREN AT RISK Institute in partnership with the Texas Juvenile Crime Prevention Center - Prairie View A&M University and The Texas Medical Center Library. It's devoted to presenting theoretical, policy, practice, and evaluation articles on the strengths perspective in family-centered practice to improve services that promote and sustain family systems.
Journal of Social Inclusion
JoSI is a peer-reviewed academic journal that will contribute to current knowledge and understanding of the social processes that marginalised individuals, families and communities.
Journal of the Society for Social Work and Research
JSSWR is a peer-reviewed publication dedicated to timely dissemination of innovative interdisciplinary research on pressing and complex social problems, methodological advances, and programs, interventions, and policies that contribute to social change. Its audience are practitioners, administrators, and policymakers whose interests include social and health problems.
Social Work & Society
SW&S is an international open access journal in the fields of social work and social policy. An international network of social scientists and political activists is accountable for publishing SW&S. It is dedicated to critical analysis of the relationship between social work, social policy, the state and economic forces.

Find More on using Databases Here.

Database, Google Scholar, Google, what's the difference?

Google Scholar

How to use Google Scholar to find Articles

Google Scholar is a resource that will limit your Google search to only academic articles.
- Use your Keywords and the tips found on the Choose Keyword Page (use AND, OR, NOT, " ") Google Scholar can be used to find articles that will help you with research.
- - Most items are scholarly articles available through Google, or they may redirect you to the CWC site.
Check out our video explaining Google Scholar if you would like more information.